The impressive volunteers of the Dayton Society of Natural History generously devote their time and experience to offer direction and provide the necessary elements to help educate and mold children and adults of all ages. The multiple boards and committees focus on strategic matters and individual projects by making every effort to ultimately ensure that the purpose, plans and policies of the overall organization are achieved. With the vast knowledge and intrapersonal skills our extraordinary Board Members and teams of volunteers possess, they help ensure the success of this community’s treasured community resource.

The essential goal of the Dayton Society of Natural History is to encourage civic leadership through quality educational programs that help students and youth to see the critical link between a sound fundamental education and future employment opportunities.


The Administration of the Dayton Society of Natural History (Boonshoft Museum of Discovery) is comprised of professionals with expertise from finance to STEM Education.

Tracey Tomme, President & CEO – ttomme@boonshoftmuseum.org
Michael Westendorf, CFO – Administration@boonshoftmuseum.org

Board of Trustees

The Dayton Society of Natural History’s (DSNH) Board of Trustees is led by a distinct and dynamic group of volunteers that promote and support the ongoing programs and overarching educational initiatives of its two entities—the Boonshoft Museum of Discovery and SunWatch IndianVillage/Archaeological Park.

In conjunction with their volunteer leadership, the Board of Trustees is a non-salaried governing group responsible for long-term strategic planning activities of the Society, physical and human assets, its programs and policies, legal operations accountability and ensuring a continuity of leadership and direction over time.

2020 Board of Trustees

Chair Tim Rice
Vice Chair Pat McDonald
Secretary Nick Niehoff
Treasurer Cheryl Ennis

Debra A. Brathwaite
Eloise Broner
Rachel Goodspeed
Gregory A. Hoffbauer
Katie Joseph
Glen McMurry
Terry W. Posey, Jr.
Carissa Ross
Yasmeen Soin
Nora Stang
Michael Stemen
Jeffrey W. Stickel
Jason Trimbach
Janet Wirth

Associate Board

The Boonshoft Museum of Discovery’s Associate Board, is a dedicated talented group of community volunteers who serve as advocates and ambassadors to further the Museum’s overall mission and enhance its public image. The Associate Board assists with the coordination of the Museum’s special events and fundraisers, including the annual Boonshoft Bash and Eureka!, and has established an overarching focus to showcase the Boonshoft Museum as the unique educational venue that it is.

Thank you to all of our past and current Associate Board members for your hard work and dedication!

2020-2021 Associate Board

President Wes Eversole
President-Elect Erin Davis
Treasurer Caitlin Krebs
Secretary Shaun & Alison Westfall
Spring FUNdraiser Chair Doug & Alyssa Vorhees
Spring FUNdraiser Co-Chair Scott & Ashley Cable
BASH Chair John & Caitlin Krebs
BASH Co-Chair Graham & Ann Bailey

Class        Member        

2021        Ashley McFadden
2021        Cody & Kara McMillen
2021        Doug & Alyssa Vorhees
2021        Mike & Kate Vriner

2022        Robert & Elizabeth Ballinger
2022        Wes Eversole
2022        Rob & Beth Ferguson
2022        John & Caitlin Bortolotto Krebs
2022        Brad & Lauren Williams

2023        Graham & Ann Bailey
2023        Scott & Ashley Cable
2023        Neil Cook & Erin Davis
2023        Sean & Elizabeth McCormick
2023        Cody & Taylor Scarberry
2023        Shaun & Alison Westfall

Visit SunWatch Today!


Tuesday - Saturday | 9am - 5pm

Sunday | 12p - 5p

CLOSED Mondays